Wildlife At Wisley

 

We soon found a variety of wildlife during a visit to the Royal Horticultural Society garden at Wisley, in Surrey, on Sunday, June 4th.

Shortly after arrival at the prestigious garden, we saw a damselfly on a lily pad in a large pond. Then, a blur of wings alerted me to a small bird as it landed on a wall enclosing an adjoining section of built-up pond. It was a pied wagtail, which we soon discovered was one of, I assume, a family group living at Wisley. We saw them several times while we ate our sandwiches and I was amazed at how quickly they can run along.

One of the pied wagtails.

A male blackbird was gathering titbits for his young from among the grass and a robin came hunting for crumbs.

The robin…. obeying the sign.

A big highlight was seeing several beautiful deep blue male banded demoiselles fluttering butterfly-like around plants along the waterways. They occasionally perched for photographs. There are some of these demoiselles – the largest of the damselflies – on the River Gaywood, here, in King’s Lynn.

 

We also spotted a pair of azure damselflies resting on a plant. A real treat.

A pair of azure damselflies.

The photographs included in this post are a selection of those taken by my husband, my son and myself during the visit.  My son and I were using Canon DSLRs and my husband was experimenting with his new Sony compact camera, and it was he who took the pictures of the banded demoiselles.  (It has to be said my son and I tried out the compact camera once or twice, too!)

It was a day of sunny spells and breezey. As our coach neared home turf in the evening, the beginnings of a shower resulted in a rainbow to finish our colourful day.

Leave a Reply

